He reigns over the storm

I can’t help flinching as a flash of lightning is followed by a rolling echo of thunder. My seat in the observatory allows me to witness the full fury of this afternoon’s storm. The wildness suits my mood.
I woke to grief this morning. It’s been almost two months since my dear grandmother, Mimi, passed away but pain doesn’t follow a schedule. Today, I’ve felt raw grief for the first time. I feel the horror of watching life ebb from the body of a vibrant woman. I feel the loss of a matriarch.
I know scripture after scripture about comfort and God’s sovereignty. My Mimi was a Christian and I rejoice that she is with Jesus. I am overwhelmed by God’s grace to my family in the progression of her disease and the manner of her death. I am blessed to be a part of her legacy: children, grandchildren and great grandchildren taught to love The Lord and each other.
I’m not confused or bitter or angry. I simply hurt. I’ve got this searing pain in my chest as I breathe. It’s not the soft sentiment where tears would prick my eyes. I feel torrential emotion; wave after wave of aching loss.
Looking outside at the chaos surrounding me, I feel a tiny bit of calm as I remember that He is Lord over all. He reigns over the storm raging out my window and He reigns over my stormy little heart.

One thought on “He reigns over the storm

Leave a Reply

