in His hand

I woke up with aching hands today, the kind you get from sleeping with a clenched fist or after holding a ski rope for several hours.  I know why they hurt: I was full of tension yesterday. I gripped the steering wheel with white knuckles and squeezed my dinner glass with both hands.  I was anxious and as a result I was physically clinging to everything around me.

When I was in college, one of my professors shared often about the necessity of having a “relaxed grasp” in relation to life. Simply put, we must be ready to receive all from Him and ready to give all to Him.  We’re not open-handed for we take hold of the gifts and circumstances that He brings to us. We gladly accept the joys and obstacles that arise in a life of obedience. However, our grip is easy and ready to release all things back into His care.

A life marked by worry and a death-grip mentality belittles the sovereignty and grace of God.  The reality is that I’ve been sought, saved and sanctified. Knowing that I’m in the hands of almighty God allows me to let go of my need to control the world around me.  Held in the grace-grip of One who doesn’t let go, I’m free to respond to life without fear. 

For years I’ve been signing cards, letters and emails with the words “in His hand.”  It’s where I want to be: carried by His mercy, submitted to His lordship and sustained by His compassion.  The first step to relaxing my grasp is realizing that my tight grip on life only leads to more pain. The second it to trust that placing myself in His care is the best, fullest way to spend the day. I pray that faith in Him increases today- for me and for you.

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” 
1 Peter 5:6-7 ESV

One thought on “in His hand

Leave a Reply

