Tuesday Thoughts 08-30-2011

I’ve been thinking about God’s goodness today, specifically how my memories of His goodness inspire me to obedience.  I’ve written at least 3 notebook pages full of attempts to express my thoughts in a clear, concise manner. My words are severely lacking.

To my delight, tonight’s reading from Spurgeon’s Morning & Evening speaks to this very topic. Allow me to share just a short excerpt with you:

Redemption is a solid basis for confidence. David had not known Calvary as we have done, but temporal redemption cheered him; and shall not eternal redemption yet more sweetly console us? Past deliverances are strong pleas for present assistance. What the Lord has done He will do again, for He changes not. He is faithful to His promises, and gracious to His saints; He will not turn away from His people.
-Charles H. Spurgeon, , Morning and Evening

“Redemption is a solid basis for confidence.” Amen.

You can read the complete devotion here.

Leave a Reply

