hem me in

“Miss, I’m afraid the road is closed. You’ll have to go around.”

I sighed as I observed the numerous blinking cones blocking my route home before turning back to the deputy.

“Thanks. You be safe out here tonight.”

“Thanks. Drive safe, miss.”

After making a quick u-turn, I pulled into an empty driveway and laid my head on the steering wheel. I was tired. I watched the blue lights flashing in my rearview mirror while calculating the minutes until I’d be home (it went from 7 to 30). I could feel the frustration rising up within me.

My cd changer buzzed as it switched discs and the words drifted from the speakers, “O God of heaven come and hem me in…”

I laughed.

Just today I was reading the first few verses of Psalm 139 and wrote in my journal:

“You hem me in—behind and before…” (verse 5)
“Father, I need you to hem me in. My heart is drawn in so many directions, my passion seems to latch on to every cause… Show me what to do. Keep me from spending all my energy on pursuits that are best left alone or worse, harmful to me. I’m tempted to run wild, in circles that lead absolutely nowhere. Reign me in.”

I’ve got a lot of growing to do. If I want to bang my head on the steering wheel because the road I want to drive is blocked, what am I going to do when He answers my prayer? Like I said, I’ve got growing to do.

Leave a Reply

