a song to sing

Beep.

I rolled onto my side and pulled the comforter snugly under my chin.

Beep-beep. 

Realizing that my alarm wasn’t turning itself off, I fumbled with the mosquito netting that surrounds my bed and grabbed my phone. That’s when I saw today’s date: April 26, 2011. April 26. The day I returned to the United States from my global internship.

Beep-beep-beep.

I took a deep breath as I slid the alarm to “off” mode. It’s been three years since I left Asia and yet there are days when my heart aches for my island home. I stood and began to stretch while blinking back tears.

That’s when I began humming. The song came as a response to the memories from somewhere deep within me. We sang in the early days with hope for all He would accomplish during our sixteen months in Indonesia. We sang when we were weary, our hearts low with grief but trusting that He’s the God who sees. And we sang as we left, expressing our confidence that He will accomplish His purposes. It’s a song of trust. A song that calls for faith to rise. A song that reminds us to bless Him at all times.

“Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!”
– Thomas Chrisholm

I’ve got a song to sing and a story to tell. He is faithful.

One thought on “a song to sing

Leave a Reply

