Hungry?

My journal is lying open on the table with yesterday’s entry on the page opposite of today’s, both beginning with a few verses from Psalm 63: 

You, God, are my God,
   earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
   my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
   where there is no water.
I have seen you in the sanctuary
   and beheld your power and your glory.
Because your love is better than life,
   my lips will glorify you.
I will praise you as long as I live,
   and in your name I will lift up my hands.
I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
   with singing lips my mouth will praise you.
(v.1-5)

In yesterday’s entry, the verse is followed by the question, “What are you hungry for?”  It’s a simply stated question with a lengthy, complex list of responses. I long for more time in the Word, I long for marriage and a family, I long for excitement. I long to be known and appreciated, I long for stability, I long to experience grace. I long to be healthy, I long for beauty, I long for peace. I long for action, I long for a sense of direction, I long to know my Lord. The list goes on…

Today, I’m pondering satisfaction.

My heart yearns much (and I’m willing to bet that yours does too) yet according to the scriptures above its possible to feel both hungry and satisfied at the same time. My own experience can testify to this. I don’t feel the feel the ache of an empty soul as I did before I knew Jesus as Savior and King. I do, however, feel the ache to better understand His mercy and grace. I want to know Him. I want to feel joy in His presence. I’m hungry and satisfied at the same time.

There are varying degrees of hunger or longing that I experience. My longing for Him is not the same as my desire for children or my craving for key lime pie. Dessert and progeny are not equal but they’re both temporary expressions of God’s goodness. (Yes, children are eternal in the sense that their souls are not temporary, but our experiences with them in a family relationship are temporary) My point is that they’re small satisfactions that whet my appetite for the real thing. If I will allow Him, the Holy Spirit uses my longing awakens my heart to a thirst for Love Divine, for Jesus Himself.

What are you hungry for today? Does your sense of hunger make you long for the One who satisfies?

Leave a Reply

