the bobby pin

“He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much.” -Luke 16:10, NASB

Such a small thing, the bobby pin on my bedroom floor. I noticed it there a few days ago, thinking, “I should pick that up.” I didn’t. It seemed like too much of an effort to get out of bed and pick up the tiny hair pin beside the bookcase. Today I stepped on the bobby pin as I was rushing about causing me to slip, lose my balance and fall as a result. I contemplated the consequences of neglecting such a miniscule task as I sat on the bedroom floor rubbing my sore hip. I was lazy for a moment but I’ll be feeling the effects of my laziness every time I sit down for a week or so. Standing up with a groan, the words of a nursery rhyme came back to me:

For want of a nail the shoe was lost.
For want of a shoe the horse was lost.
For want of a horse the rider was lost.
For want of a rider the battle was lost.
For want of a battle the kingdom was lost.
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

I decided that today I am going to practice faithfulness in the small things. I’m starting by tucking a little bobby pin away in a drawer.

2 thoughts on “the bobby pin

Leave a Reply

