the lesson: part 1

“I don’t have time for this today.”  I looked at my sister, my vision marred by frustration and tears.  I could see the lines of her beautiful face marked with a frown.  I recognized the angry tension in her limbs.  I could hear the disappointment in her voice.  It was the tinge of pain in her voice that got through to me.  I didn’t want to cause her pain, even if only for a moment.

“I love you, Liss.  There aren’t enough minutes in the day for me to love you.  I’m certainly not going to waste another one fighting with you.”  I put my arms around her little shoulders.  She hugged me rather fiercely and whispered, “I love you, too.”

I have much to learn.  My understanding is often partial but is- thank you, Jesus- ever increasing.  I’m still learning that my days here on this earth are a gift to the glory of God.  I’m still learning that the time to speak what’s in my heart is now.  I’m learning to give my heart fully; first to God and then to those around me.  I’m learning to love.  It’s a costly lesson but so very worth it.

More on that tomorrow…

In loving memory of

Hannah Shae Frydenlund

May 24, 2002- August 22, 2002


One thought on “the lesson: part 1

  1. Thank you Tiffany! I never had the priviledge of meeting sweet Hannah, but know her through you, Melissa and your Mom. She has impacted more hearts for Jesus in her three months than most will in a lifetime! Even today, eight years after she went to heaven, I spent hours thinking of her, your family and God’s grace shining brightly in each of you!

Leave a Reply

