When I forget to practice forgiveness: Part 2

Twenty minutes.  It seems that no matter when I’m going, it’ll take me approximately twenty minutes to get there.  Drive to work?  Twenty minutes.  Bible study?  Twenty minutes.  Target?  Twenty minutes.  The airport?  Twenty minutes.  Sometimes those twenty minutes are spent talking to the person in the car with me.  Sometimes I blast the radio and sing along.  The twenty minutes of my drive home are often quiet and reflective.

Last Tuesday evening I used my twenty minutes to evaluate a conversation from earlier that day.  I was recalling a rather tense moment when the realization stuck: I was angry.  I felt angry during the conversation and I felt angry as I drove home.  I prayed a little. “So, I was angry…  Okay, I’m still angry.”  I didn’t get very far before the words of Ephesians came to mind:

“Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”  -Ephesians 4:26-27, 31-32

As God in Christ forgave you.  When I forget the cross, I forget to practice forgiveness.  When I forget the cross, pride rises up within me until I’m unwilling and unable to extend mercy to anyone.  It would seem that the real danger lies not in forgetting to forgive but in forgetting that I’m forgiven.

2 thoughts on “When I forget to practice forgiveness: Part 2

  1. Amen and amen! Had a similar conversation with a dear friend last week about love and grace. When I forget the love and grace displayed on the cross for me, then I “forget” to extend love and grace to others.

    It’s all about the cross.

Leave a Reply

