Tuesday Thoughts 03-23-10

I’ve spent the better part of the last hour watching several kids playing on the street in front of my house.  I’m not really sure what they’re playing but it involves the use of plastic light sabers, cowboy hats and trash bags.  Yes, all three at the same time.  It’s obviously an epic battle that will determine the fate of our universe.

Childhood.  Some days I miss it.  I suppose that it would be more accurate to say that there are certain things that I miss about childhood, such as:

Licking the trail of ice cream off your arm. Or off your t-shirt, knee, etc.  Forget germs, table manners and etiquette.  There’s something fun about lapping up the little bit that almost got away.

Wearing a costume in public because you feel like it.  Hats, capes, tiaras and swords.  Grown-up accessories are so predictable.

Amusing yourself by finding shapes in the clouds.  Before the ipod, this was a family road trip standard.

Alright, I’m off to grab a popsicle and finish my observation of the saber-wielding, cowboy hat-sporting, apocalyptic warriors outside my door.


One thought on “Tuesday Thoughts 03-23-10

Leave a Reply

