Tuesday Thoughts 03-16-10

“No, no, no!  We don’t lick the mirrors.”

“Charlie, do not lick her hand again.”

“Emma, please don’t lick my hand.”

“Oh… Brilee…  we don’t lick the floor in dance class.  Actually, we shouldn’t lick any floors, ok?”

I walked into the studio yesterday with such ambition for my first class.  Fifteen minutes later, I was shaking my head as I realized that my plans were not going to work that afternoon.  My class of three-year olds was completely fixed upon licking whatever they could: classmates, teachers, equipment and even the floor!  I wanted to say, “Stop it!  There’s so much I want to teach you, if you can just keep your tongue in your mouth!”  As a teacher, it’s frustrating when wayward behavior takes your students far from the lessons you’re eager for them to learn.  I wasn’t annoyed.  I was disappointed.  For them.  There are so many things I want to teach them, wonderful things that I know they’d enjoy even more than licking the floor.

Today I can’t help wondering about the areas of my life where I cling to shallow pleasure.  I wonder what I’m missing.  I want to let go of fleeting happiness and pursue real joy.  No more “licks” for me.

Leave a Reply

