The Saving One

I picked up Canadian band Starfield’s self-titled album in a moment of whimsy six years ago.  They’ve since become one of my favorites.  (Slot 4 in my car’s cd changer is usually devoted to them.)  “The Saving One” is the title track of their fourth album and the song most likely to be repeated on my ipod this week.  The lyrics seem especially fitting in this season of preparing my heart for Easter:

What mercy was revealed
What selflessness and peace
My fate was surely sealed
Until He rescued me
His pardon for my sin
His bounty for my need
From slavery and shame
I am redeemed

And Heaven can’t contain
The glory of the Son
Jesus is the Christ, the saving One
His love has made a way
The grave is overcome
Jesus is the Christ, the saving One

No fear can hold me down
Nor darkness steal my joy
For blood has been poured out
The enemy destroyed
Death could not hold Him down
The cross was not enough
To steal away His throne
For He is God

And Heaven can’t contain
The glory of the Son
Jesus is the Christ, the saving One
His love has made a way
The grave is overcome
Jesus is the Christ, the saving One

Anyone who calls upon His name
They will be saved
They will be saved
Anyone who calls upon His name
They will be saved
They will be saved

-“The Saving One” by Starfield

Good stuff, hmm?

Leave a Reply

