Tuesday Thoughts 02-09-10

When my brother joined the Marines, my parents told him that he would always be welcome in their home.  Though most of Mat’s visits have been planned, there have been a few occasions where he has turned up unexpectedly.  It’s for that very reason that I keep the bed made in the room next to mine.  Once a week I set aside few minutes to dust the furniture, wipe down the windows, shake the curtains and sweep the floor just to keep everything fresh and ready for when he comes.  Sometimes (like today) I feel a bit silly cleaning a room for someone who isn’t there to appreciate it  but I think it’s important for him to know that he has a place in our home, in our lives and in our thoughts.  Mat’s visits are eagerly awaited and far from being thought of as an intrusion.  Anticipation of his arrival motivates the tidying of pillows and straightening of the comforter.

Anticipation.  Webster defines it as, “a prior action that takes into account or forestalls a later action; the act of looking forward; especially : pleasurable expectation.”  It’s a good word.  I’ve been thinking about what it means to live in the anticipation of Christ’s return.  Am I ready for the arrival of my King?  Or do I lose sight of Him amidst the chaos of today?  Do I approach prayer and study and service with reluctance or are spiritual disciplines the result of glorious expectation?  It’s something to consider.

“And now, little children, abide in Him, that when He appears, we may have confidence and not be ashamed before Him at His coming.” -1 John 2:28

One thought on “Tuesday Thoughts 02-09-10

Leave a Reply

