I love to tell the story

I can’t remember the first time that I made Christmas cookies with my mother.  I’m sure that she could tell stories of my mishaps with flour and a rolling pin over the years.  What I do remember is the story she would tell as we cut sugar cookies into hearts, stars, trees and bells.  I found myself repeating it today as I baked with my younger sisters:

“First, we need a heart.  It all begins with God’s love.  We love because He first loved us.  And He loved us so much that He sent Jesus into the world that we might have eternal life.”

“Now, we need a star.  Just like the wisemen who left everything to follow the star, we are truly wise when we follow Jesus.”

“Now, we need a tree.  Christmas trees are evergreens- always bright and strong.  We were created to worship Him forever.  When He dwells in our hearts, we flourish.”

“Now, for the bells.  Bells ring to announce important things.  We should live to announce the story of Jesus.  That He came to earth as a child, lived a sinless life, died on the cross for our sins, rose again and now waits in heaven until the time is right for Him to return as a King to rule over all the earth.”


2 thoughts on “I love to tell the story

  1. OMG – I am AMAZED! Those are the exact same cookie cutters my mom has – that she still uses! Your cookies look exactly like ours. . . and all these years –
    I’m flabergasted!

Leave a Reply

