sweetness

I am loved.  I know this because Taylor told me so.

In the middle of a ballet class for 3-year-olds, I found myself tying a student’s shoe and listening as she rambled on about the Barbie that she wants for Christmas.  I was nodding politely and trying to get her back on the dance floor when she asked me, “Miss Tiffany, do you know what?”  “What would you like me to know Taylor?” was my reply.  She just smiled at me.  After a moment of waiting for her to answer and becoming anxious for her to rejoin her class I asked again, “What, Taylor?”  She sighed deeply before telling me, “I love you.”  My heart melted.  I found myself blinking rapidly and wishing that I had worn waterproof mascara as I smiled back and told her that I loved her too.

The rest of class was a bit of a blur for me.  All I know is that when class ended fifteen minutes later I pulled Taylor aside to ask, “Why did you tell me that you loved me?”  She looked at me for a moment, glanced at the floor and then shyly looked back to me again before whispering, “I just thought you should know.”

A friend recently told me, “everybody craves a little sweetness.”  I know that I do.  Sometimes I find myself thinking, “I don’t want to hear another word unless it’s a nice one.”  I’d imagine that I’m not the only person who grows weary of feeling unseen and unimportant.  There’s a desire that’s been rising up within me as of late to grow in kindness, in tenderness.  Perhaps it’s the result of spending time considering the kindness of God, but the Holy Spirit is stirring up this longing to show kindness to those around me.  I just want to be really good to people.  I’ve been trying to find ways to do that and I think I’ve got another one for my list: tell people that I love them (and that they’re wonderful, etc.) just because I think so and they ought to know.  From experience, I know that it’s pretty great to hear.

2 thoughts on “sweetness

Leave a Reply

