Tuesday Thoughts 09-08-09

One of my favorite parts of my job as a dance instructor is the time in bewteen classes – not because I’m lazy and want to rest my feet- but because it’s in that time that I’m able to know my students.  We talk.  We talk about school, their families, and what they want more than anything.  They ask questions about my life, such as what I do when I’m not teaching dance, what’s my favorite kind of ice cream, etc.

It’s always interesting explaining that I don’t have a little girl their age.  I don’t have any children.  Why?  Because I’m not married.  Why?  Because I haven’t found a man that I want to marry.  On and on it goes, often leaving me on the verge of laughter as they attempt to figure out why I don’t have a boyfriend.

Occasionally, some precocious youngster will offer her romantic advice.  Such was the case with a 7 year old after a Dance Basics class last week.  She informed me that I should get married as soon as possible.  I told her that it wasn’t that simple.  She replied, “What’s so hard about it?  You find a boy that doesn’t smell too funny, you buy a dress and that’s that.”

There you have it, folks.  Marriage advice from Dance Basics 3.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts 09-08-09

Leave a Reply

