Tuesday Thoughts 08-4-09

I have a weakness when it comes to over-spending on my personal budget: books.  I can make all kinds of excuses for this habit but really it comes down to poor planning and selfishness.  Lately I’ve been trying to use the public library as much as I can, taking advantage of the wealth of resources available and saving a little for long-term financial goals.  

Today, after four months of abstinence, I purchased two new books.  Charles H. Spurgeon’s Being God’s Friend and John Bunyan’s Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners, both of which I was unable to borrow from the local library.  I drove to the bookstore, made my selection and walked out with my purchases.  That was it.  No guilt over spending more than I should have.  No urge to return half of the items in my bag.  No plaguing thoughts about all the books that I could have bought instead.  I have to say that it felt pretty good to make a purchase free and clear.

Freedom rocks.

Leave a Reply

