Tuesday Thoughts 06-02-09

Why do You love me
Why do You care
Greatly You’ve blessed me
And greatly I’ve erred

In all of my failings
You’ve stood in my place
With patience unending And tireless grace

Kindness I did not deserve
Mercy I could never earn
Your blood and blessing cover me
Your love the sweetest mystery

How did You suffer
How did You cry
Placing Him under
My burden of pride

Afflicted and pierced
You delivered to death
The Holy Beloved
Your Life and Your Breath

Kindness I did not deserve
Mercy I could never earn
Your blood and blessing cover me
Your love the sweetest mystery

Nothing can separate me from
Your love, Your love, Your love
Nothing can separate me from
Your love, Your love, Your love

~The Sweetest Mystery by Eddie Kirkland

I’m sorely tempted to abandon myself to the questions and wonderings of my mind:  What am I doing here in Florida?  How do the tasks before me relate to the other goals that I believe to be God-given?  On and on it goes until I’m completely lost in a whirlwind of doubt and frustration and disappointment.  An evening devoted to wondering about the less-than-wonderful.  What a waste of time.  I may not know the specific answers to those questions but I know enough that I’m able choose obedience with joy.  

I’ve been listening to this song on repeat for the better portion of the last hour.  I decided that if I was going to give in to my desire for contemplation, I might as well direct my energies to something worthy.  It might seem overly simplistic but then again why must worship be such a complicated matter?  Whatever tomorrow holds can only be dealt with in light of His love and His love extends far beyond all of my tomorrows.  If it’s a matter of focusing on doubt or focusing on love, then the choice is very simple.  Praying that you are able to savor simple faith and the sweetest mystery today.

One thought on “Tuesday Thoughts 06-02-09

  1. Thanks for that Tiffy. I’ve been struggling with a lot of those same thoughts right now too. Same state also. 😉 It’s always good to know you’re not alone in the fight.

Leave a Reply

