Tuesday Thoughts 05-26-09

Today has become joyously full (I’ll write again later this evening) but for now I’ll leave you with this hint:

Have a mentioned that I love Tuesdays?  Egyptian food?  My life?

UPDATE:

I do really love Tuesdays, you know.  The habit of blogging on Tuesday ensures me a little extra time in my reading chair.  Lighter house-work on Tuesday means that I have time to bake.  Tuesday evenings I get together with friends at Crew to discuss Scripture and enjoy good conversation.  Reading, baking, Scripture, conversation, friends…  sounds like the makings of a lovely day, wouldn’t you agree?  

Tonight’s particular events arose from a break from the regular Tuesday night schedule.  Tonight was spent in the company three lovely ladies: preparing Egyptian and Israeli food, then eating said food, and finally, watching the movie Ben-Hur.  I always enjoy Tuesdays but I have to say that this has been one of the nicest ones that I’ve had in a while.  I relish cooking with companions, can eat my weight Middle Eastern cuisine and adore Charlton Heston.  

Speaking of the late Heston, I was so moved as I watched him deliver a line earlier as Judah Ben-Hur that I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since then.  In the final scene after Judah returns from Calvary and describes his encounter with Jesus he says, “His voice took the sword from my hand.”  The words of Jesus confront his hatred and eradicate his need for vengeance.  Jesus Himself disarms the hardened, wary heart of its defenses.  I’ve heard the line delivered at least a dozen times but tonight, as I glance at world news headlines before crawling into bed, it resonates within me and I pray that it would be the case for many who have yet to encounter Him.

One thought on “Tuesday Thoughts 05-26-09

Leave a Reply

