signs of aging

anti-aging

“Your what?”  I glanced up in the mirror to see my younger sister watching me with a bemused expression on her face.  “It’s anti-wrinkle cream.”  Raised eyebrows.  “Why?”  I began rubbing little circles on my forehead again.  “Because I’m getting older.”  And it’s the truth.  I can see it in the mirror.  I can really see it when I look at pictures from a year or two ago.  All of the commercials for beauty products that mention “the visible signs of aging” are beginning to make sense.  

All of this has me pondering how I’ve changed with the passing of time.  It’s not just that my hair is styled different or that I have better sense when dressing myself (although I do rejoice that I dress better now than I did in middle school).  Looking at myself in old photographs reveals how much I’ve grown, how far I’ve come.  Someone else might go with, “Bad choice on the tye-dyed t-shirt.”  I’m thinking, “Wow, there was so much that I didn’t know.”  Which then makes me wonder how I’ll feel looking at photos ten years from now.  I don’t want to see a face with fewer lines and wish that I could go back.  I want to recognize that I’ve gained character and wisdom.

I want to age well.  I want those, “visible signs of aging” to be grace and compassion and courage.  And wisdom.  I want wisdom.  I want to be the kind of woman who has gleaned much from every year of life that’s been allotted to her.  The kind of woman who makes you appreciate a lifetime full of experiencing the kindness of God.  Looking in the mirror today, I find myself saying, “Lord, give me something to show for these years.  Make me better with each day that passes.”  So much for anti-aging.  Time will march on.  I just want it move me further from my own frailty and closer to His glory.

 

One thought on “signs of aging

  1. Such wisdom, Tiffany. You ARE pursuing writing, aren’t you? You have a gift. I cannot read scripture that speaks of the frangrance of Christ without thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

