Tuesday Thoughts 03-24-09

“Now what?”

That question, when directed at me by a local high school student, was not unexpected.  This past Sunday was the first gathering of a youth group that I’m leading in a nearby rural community.  Beginnings are usually marked by awkwardness and confusion, so I really didn’t mind the constant questions and quizzical looks.  Throughout the course of the afternoon I sought to communicate- again and again- what we were doing and what I expected.  Still, there were moments where I found myself surrounded by eager youth asking the question, “Now what?”

That question lingered in my thoughts as I climbed into the driver’s seat of my car and stared at the empty field where we played football an hour earlier.  Now what?  There are so many things that I don’t know about this endeavor, so many things that I am left to wonder about.  I wonder what it will look like six months from now.  I wonder who will carry on when I am ready to leave.  I wonder what will be required of me.   I wonder if I have what it takes to be obedient and to make an impact.  I felt like one of my students as I tipped my head back to stare at the ceiling and ask, “Ok, Lord… now what?”   I knew that I wasn’t really alone even though I was sitting in an otherwise empty car and parking lot.  And I was thankful for the assurance that I follow One who knows  all the things that I don’t.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts 03-24-09

  1. Pefect picture thought!

    I so look forward to Tiffany’s Tuesday Thoughts.

    Wish you had been leading a youth group when I was a teenager. I hope these girls know what a gift they have in you, dearest Tiffany.

Leave a Reply

