Tuesday Thoughts 02-10-09

I was driving to the movie theater on Sunday when a thought of the generic “things are never going to change” variety came to mind.  As I entertained the thought, I could feel hopelessness welling up within me.   And that’s when I slammed the door- so to speak- on that diversion.  As a disciple of Jesus Christ, there really is no room for that kind of thinking.  I know that there is hope.  Eternal hope.  And even on the days when I can’t seem to grasp what that looks like in relation to where I’m standing, the reality is that I hope in what awaits me for all of eternity.  Jesus.

I’ve been mulling over what it’s like to live in hope and with hope for the past several days.  The lyrics of the song below echo what’s on my heart and mind so wonderfully that I want to share them with you.  

I set my eyes on what I cannot see
I set my mind on the eternal
For You are my great reward
Forever I will be with You

I know that this momentary light affliction
Is working in me an eternal weight of glory
An eternal weight of glory

For you are God and You know what You want
And You know how to get it the fastest way
And You give and take away
You’re the initiator of seasons of change
You are God and You know what You want
And You know how to get it the fastest way
With the least amount of pain
But there will be pain, it’s guaranteed

Consider it pure joy when you face trials of many kinds
The testing of your faith develops perseverance
Perseverance is needed to run the race
Consider it pure joy
Consider it pure joy

This is my confidence
This is my confidence
This is my confidence
I’m living for another age

The eternal weight of glory is being worked in me
My only confidence is the eternal weight of glory
I will consider it pure joy
The eternal weight of glory is being worked in me
Christ in my heart

~ Momentary Light Affliction by Justin Rizzo

Leave a Reply

